top of page
Search

Leading with an Impact: Part 1

When I was in Junior High I remember my parents saying to me, “Joe, you need to set an example for your younger siblings.” In essence what my parents were telling me to do was to be a leader. As the years went by leadership to me was just the fact that I was older and people looked up to me. It wasn’t until my senior year of High School that I realized leadership is not just everyone looking up to you. Leadership is daily and actively taking steps that are worth looking up to.

Everywhere around us people need examples and leadership. If we are to be an impactful leader, we need to make sure we are being impacted daily by the greatest leader!

In the Bible we read about several impactful leaders; David, Moses, Solomon, Esther, etc. One of the greatest leaders we see in Scripture is a man named Joshua. Joshua is well known because he began to lead Israel right when things were about to get tough. They were entering the Promised Land, but many battles were to be had to conquer the land. But Joshua stepped in, and God used him in an amazing way. Remember the walls of Jericho? Remember the 32 Kings that Joshua overthrew through God’s power? How was Joshua such an impact for God as a leader? Many things go into why Joshua was an impact, but I believe the main reason is found in:

Joshua 1:8 “This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.”

Joshua had an impact because the greatest leader and ruler known (God) had a daily impact on Joshua’s life. You see Joshua knew that to be used by God in the greatest ways; he needed to spend daily time with his God. We see the results through Joshua’s life: Huge milestone after huge milestone in his life and his followers.

God wants you to be a leader for Him. But the only way you can be used in God’s greatest way is if you are daily seeking your God. Seek Him through His Word, Prayer, other Christians, and Godly leaders. If you have the discipline to daily be impacted by your God, than God will use your to daily impact others for His glory.

- Pastor Joe


bottom of page